WIAW: Baking Away

Well, thankfully for my waistline and digestion I didn’t eat all of what I’m posting today. A girl’s gotta bake though. And that’s exactly what I did. I derive a significant amount of enjoyment being in the kitchen–creativity brewing, flour flying, and music bellowing. It’s for that reason alone I love to bake and cook for others–therapy session in the works.

Now if I could only do so in a kitchen with exposed brick walls, a copper hood, and a Wolf Range….or at least have some decent lighting and a sharp set of knives? #cookingwoes

If you know me, you know of my sweet tooth. I try to keep it at bay most of the time. One sweet you’ll never catch me ordering is a citrus dessert. Blech. No judgement if you love them–most people do. Ergo, I decided to bake the below dessert/loaf/treat/breakfast. I’m a people pleaser, what can I say. It’s not the healthiest recipe in the least, but I have to throw you a few curve balls now and then to indulge in. Perfect hostess gift, coffee pairing, or ice cream base.

Glazed Lemon Cake (Adapted from Ina Garten)
Ingredients:
2 sticks unsalted butter
2 cups granulated sugar
4 eggs
3 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
3/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla extract
For the glaze:
2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
3 1/2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Cream the butter and 2 cups granulated sugar in a mixer until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes., Add the eggs, one at a time.
Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. In a separate bowl, combine 1/4 cup lemon juice, the buttermilk, and vanilla. Pour the batter into a loaf pan and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour.
For the glaze, combine the confectioners’ sugar and the lemon juice in a bowl, mixing until smooth. Pour over the tops of the cakes and allow the glaze to drizzle down the sides.

 

Softened butter

Softened butter

Eggs and sugar

Eggs and sugar

Flour

Flour

Grease

Grease

Evenly pour

Evenly pour

Voila

Voila

Glazed

Glazed

Any exciting eats or bakes recently?

2 thoughts on “WIAW: Baking Away

Leave a Reply

