Spring Renewal

I hope you all had a happy weekend or Passover or Easter depending on your beliefs. I experienced some poignant reminders in between the beautiful spring weather and the dismal rain. I often feel that my time on my yoga mat is my church, my spiritual time. To set an intention for myself at that moment no matter the challenges my day brought–it’s my chance to move forward from the stress and tears that came before I stepped on my mat. To move without thought in harmony with my breath. To rejuvenate. To renew. To be. Yoga means union. The union of the body, the mind, the breath, and God. Yoga philosophy teaches us that everything is God, you are an image of God, you are one with God and grow as God.

image_2

 

Following my beautiful time on the mat next to wonderful friends and a unison of breath, I attended an Easter service near the White House. The reverend spoke about the resurrection and moving away from “Befores” and “If onlys.” His words truly resonated with me. How often do I spend my time in that frame of mind? Thinking about when I was in college and things were easier, when my parents were still together, if only I had taken those prerequisite courses, if only I had done a language immersion, if only I had lived closer to my grandmother.  Easter is about renewal and change and moving forward. A new dawn with beginnings and opportunities. What is different and uncomfortable and hard allows us to grow and to begin.

 

In between my poignant lessons on renewal, I spent time enjoying the cherry blossoms (only one tree, don’t be misled), maneuvering around tourists invading DC, hunting for eggs and tiny vodka bottles, consuming too many chocolates after 40 days, and hosting a cramped (I need a real living room) but festive and joyful Easter dinner for twelve.

image image_1image_3 image_4 image_5 image_6 image_7 image_8

 

Any lessons for you this weekend?

6 thoughts on “Spring Renewal

  1. I sometimes have a big problem focusing on the “if onlys” ..especially lately. Really happy I read this post this morning, there’s no sense in wasting any energy worrying or thinking about those things you can’t change.

  2. I can’t wait to go to DC next weekend and see all the cherry blossoms! I’ve never seen them before and everyone keeps telling me how badly I’m missing out!

  3. Can’t for the cherry blossoms as well! ❤
    I love this post, you're right, definitely a much needed reminder of staying focused on the present and the future instead of dwelling on the past.

Leave a Reply

