As of Late

Lately… my days look like this. Despite the kind beginning of the Spring Equinox

IMG_2860

 

Lately…I’ve been running more. Stella is getting her groove back and likes it. I ran my third half marathon, the DC Rock and Roll Half Marathon last weekend.Β  The route was hillier than when I PRed at it two years ago; I was also in Charlottesville hill shape then and actually training. I loved the race and it was so nice to run with a friend the entire time, rather than be plugged in to my pod. I loved having support waiting for me at the finish line πŸ™‚

IMG_2833Β IMG_2826 IMG_28312013-03-21_0848422013-03-21_084932

 

Lately…I’ve been channeling Martha Stewart. The pre-insider trading/criminal Martha. Nothing is as cathartic as spending a few hours in the kitchen working on a dish for loved ones. Peach-pear pie anyone?

IMG_2847IMG_2852 IMG_2851 IMG_2856IMG_2858

 

Lately…Bloody Marys have made a come back in my life. I guess it takes a make your own Bloody Mary bar to make me reconsider my Mimosas. Getting in my veggies, right?

IMG_2859

 

Lately…Breaking Bad has been on the mind. Two episodes away from being caught up on the current season. Eeeeeeeee, so good.

 

Lately…I’ve been loving words like these, “I believe if you float that the wind will certainly one day find you… that it takes patience to hover and watch… it takes courage to put out your sails and wait for an invisible force… this is no external hand but the quiet space between effort and letting go.”

 

Lately…I discovered the best French restaurant in DC.Montematre, I have no complaints. It was the most delicious race fueling I’ve done. Wine helps the legs right?

IMG_2820IMG_2823 IMG_2822

 

What have you been doing lately?

10 thoughts on “As of Late

  1. I couldn’t agree more, the new course was so different than the old one I PRed on last year when I was training in VA hills. makes a difference for sure. what is this weather? i ran this morning and wanted to cry at the cold. come on spring!

  2. Omigod, the weather. The craptastic, insanely cold weather. It has me dreaming of Texas, I can definitely tell you that. Oy. On a happier note, though, congrats on the half marathon and the beautiful pies — they’re both awesome!

  3. Congrats on the half!! So many people ran it this past weekend, so exciting to see everyone do such a great job πŸ™‚ And I’ve been meaning to get into Breaking Bad..I’m just afraid once I start I won’t be able to stop!

  4. I’m so glad I didn’t run that half. If I’m out for a week right now without running, I don’t want to know how I’d be feeling if I had run. It’s always fun to finish with friends though! You’ve been busy lately! I can’t wait for the real spring weather to start. None of this fake stuff that’s going on right now.

  5. Oh my goodness, isn’t this DC weather INSANE!? I’m SO ready for Spring & Summer! Congrats on running your third half marathon!! πŸ˜€ I want to start training for one soon, hoping this weather will cooperate so I can make it happen! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

