Living on Lentils

Lentils: botanically-known as Lens culinaris esculenta, originated with our ancestors during the Neolithic period. The word’s Latin root is lens,  because the bean cousin is shaped like the double convex optic lens which took its name from the lentil.  There are hundreds of varieties of lentils, with as many as fifty cultivated for food.  They are rich sources of protein, folic acid, dietary fiber, vitamin C, B vitamins, essential amino acids and trace minerals.

This post’s title is not misleading. A girls gotta do what a girls gotta do. I have been nibbling my way through the lentil loaf leftovers from Sunday, in attempt to not be wasteful before I head home to this:

IMG_1356

Pina coladas, warm weather, and….my laptop as I will be still working from home today.

 

Back to the lentils. Clearly, you all are on edge waiting to hear more. A week ago, prior to my lentil loaf, I concocted a red lentil soup in my Crockpot, surprise surprise.

Into the pot went:

  • 3-4 cups lentils
  • double the volume in vegetable broth
  • garlic
  • 1/2 a medium onion
  • one large sliced leek
  • mushrooms
  • frozen peas (add at the end)
  • curry, salt, pepper, chili sauce

IMG_2529 IMG_2532IMG_2533 IMG_2535

I turned the Crockpot on high, set off to assist a yoga class at Flow, and when I returned my soup was fini e magnifique. Serve in a large preferably on sale Anthropologie bowl with fresh whole wheat bread and night. Bonus points that it was snowing all day and the boyfriend was a fan.

Lunch leftovers

Lunch leftovers

 

I’m off to Florida to refresh with some Vitamin D  and detox from my lentils. Until next week with another lentil recipe (I kid), Au revoir.

12 thoughts on “Living on Lentils

  1. I loooooove lentils — especially lentil soups! They’re awesome for winter lunches, so I tend to go a bit nuts with my lentil consumption this time of year. 🙂 Have a phenomenal time in Florida — I hope it’s fabulously sunny, warm, and relaxing!

  2. I am so glad you are having family time, especially since you lost your beloved grandmother. Time to recoup by the pool and have those pina coladas.

Leave a Reply

