WIAW: Besides Soup

It’s an anomaly that there are no references to soup in this post. The past few weeks of Crockpot trial and exploration, I’ve made my pumpkin fail, tomato soup, tomato hominy, and red lentil hodgepodge. I’ll post about the last two successes soon. My days have involved lots of snacks on snacks on snacks per usual, but I thought I’d share a meal from the last few days. As you’ll see, I finally got to it and made a recipe from one of my favorite blogs. Though yoga teacher training is over, my weekend was filled with yoga workshops and classes and finally chefing it up in the kitchen.

Thanks for hosting WIAW, Jenn

Breakfast:

  • Yogurt mess
  • Frozen berries, greek yogurt, sunflower seeds, and cinnamon
  • Hot mint tea

IMG_2537

Pre-Lunch:

  • Another new juice recipe (I ran out of a serious amount of vegetables)
  • Beet, carrots, orange (the first version had a leek….BIG mistake)

IMG_2558

Lunch:

  • Stirfry hodgepodge
  • Mushrooms, spinach, tofu, curry, herbs

IMG_2389

Dinner:

  • Lentil loaf leftovers from a Sunday dinner party

IMG_2552

Recipe adapted from OhSheGlow

3 cups uncooked green lentils
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
2 eggs
1/2 cup diced sweet onion
1 cup diced celery
1 cup grated carrot
1/3 cup cubed sweet apple
salt & pepper, to taste
red pepper flakes

Glaze:

1/2 cup ketchup
2 tbsp pure maple syrup
4 tbsp balsamic

Do you like lentils?

20 thoughts on “WIAW: Besides Soup

  1. I haven’t tried lentils yet but I’ve been meaning too! Right now I’m in “use up all my groceries before I leave for vacation” mode so I haven’t been too experimental. I love it when I find time to make a recipe I’ve been meaning to try, so much fun.

  2. Your life sounds so cool! I can’t wait to say I did a yoga workshop one weekend. My plan is to sign-up for teacher training as soon as I’m finished Grad school. I’m afraid I’ll overbook myself if I do it now, but I sure do enjoy reading your posts and about your experiences!

    Whenever I’ve thought up a concoction that was amazing in my head and is just the opposite, I think, well at least I’m getting a chock-ful of nutrients!

    Oh my goodness, that lentil loaf looks incredible, and I bet it tasted just as good as it looks! I guess I just gave it away that I like lentils! šŸ˜€

    • TT is definitely a huge time and monetary commitment so be prepared, but SO worth it. I suddenly don’t know what to do with all this free time on the weekends.

      I def agree that the best recipes are in your head–so much easier than following step by step

Leave a Reply

