This Day

Bear with me as I try to piece together and articulate my innumerable  thoughts over the last few days. Given the events that happened in Connecticut, I along with most of the world, hold an immensely heavy heart and pained mind. My heart aches for the families and victims of Friday’s unfathomable tragedy and the inconsolable pain they are and will always be holding.

I spent my Saturday and Sunday at teacher training with a supportive, warming group of people. The positive elements of this environment almost compounded my anger, sadness, and disbelief. How can we sit in a room while horrific things are occurring? Why did is this happening? What can I do?

The enormity of this horror seemed so much bigger than our little room of yogic concepts and philosophy. We bridged the topic of the shooting a few times during our Sutra chapters and closing chanting. These increases in violence are lessons for humanity, teaching us compassion, and we are witnessing these messages of the necessity of love become more expounded. Our challenge is to be friendly towards the happy, be compassionate towards the unhappy, delight in the virtuous, and disregard the wicked. And on my journey as a yoga teacher, I can be a healer–instilling light, compassion, and positivity in my students and the world. That is what I can immediately do.

And yoga? It allows us to cope. We can breath through these calamities, settling the mind and its chaotic thoughts. It brings peace to our sympathetic nervous system. It allows us to overcome obstacles of the mind and the accompaniments of despair, distress, trembling, etc. Yoga fosters our authenticity, so that we can act and think according to our purpose. Leaving the world with our work each day, however we were meant to do that.

In the wake of this hate and sadness, give this day all of  your sincerity, peace, generosity, and love. We can use every bit of it.

image-3

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive, and go and do that, because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

-Howard Thurman

5 thoughts on “This Day

  1. I absolutely love yoga for this reason exactly. Honestly, it’s one of the few things keeping me sane throughout exam week. I’ve practiced every day – and never felt better! I’m glad you were able to find some peace!

Leave a Reply

