S.w.a.m.p.e.d.

A little thing called work–final deliverables, the end of my project, aggressive deadlines, millions of dollars in contracts–got in the way of my posting. Some nerve. But it’s that time of the year, I guess. Work, Christmas parties, and work interspersed for four weeks.

I’ve needed plenty of yoga, good talks, and chocolate to get through it. Forgive me?

IMG_2022 IMG_2109

This wasn’t my kind of stress release, but I was so proud that my body allowed me to access this posture for the first time…and in two different classes. Not sure what the name is…some kind of anjaneyasana backbend with a foot grab.

backbend

The weekend was a whirlwind as well. Back to 8 hour days of Yoga Teacher Training but loving it. I was antsy to be back in the studio with my TT group. It’s such a beautiful environment–the palpably positive energy, comforting hearts,Β  and dynamic/fascinating yogis that I already feel attached to. It’s hard to describe, but I feel so at home with the people, concepts, learning, and dedication. The kind of people and theories that I’m ecstatic to be integrating into my life.

We spent the entire weekend reviewing the intricacies of anatomy. Yoga 101 basically covered every musculature, body system, and injury imaginable…and there’s a lot. I definitely have more homework and studying to do on my own. The good news is I spend this weekend with my little yogis again! Merry Christmas to me. It’s hard to fathom that we only have two weekends left in January before graduation…..better get working. If you’d like a willing, patient, and practiced private teacher, you know who to contact πŸ™‚ But really.

In between teacher training sessions, I was able to fit in a holiday run with the boyfriend. The Jingle Bell 8k was a great distance and as you can imagine a very entertaining crowd–jingle bells, santa suits, reindeer apparel, a nativity scene (yes, baby being pushed in tow). A lot of energy and holiday spirit waited in the rain for the race along Pennsylvania and the National Mall. We were festive and speedy. With the exception of someone’s knee pain and my own ankle trouble (darn new pink shoes!!), it was a nice first jaunt together. Thanks for being a good sport, Richard.

IMG_2089 IMG_2091 IMG_2093IMG_2085 IMG_2084

Needless to say, the pink shoes were returned. Let’s see if these babies work out.

IMG_2107

Have you ever tried Saucony’s?

Any chocolate in your life this week?

9 thoughts on “S.w.a.m.p.e.d.

  1. I tried saucony once but they weren’t the shoe for me. I’m a mizuno girl. That yoga training seems so intense! Oh and super jealous you ran the jingle bell race. I did it last year and it was so fun, I just wish it wasn’t the day before finals

Leave a Reply

