Pizza Kind of Night

There are those nights when you just need a perfect slice of pizza. But you want to be make dinner at home. And you want to try a dozen recipes. And you’re a healthy living blogger. Conflicting interests?

No at all.

Ladies and gentleman, date night does Cauliflower Pizza. And does it well.

I discovered the brilliance and innovation of this recipe on various blogs but in paricular, thank you Laura! To be honest, it sounded a little out there but I always like a challenge. If I live in yoga pants and running shoes, juice to my heart’s content, and frequent farmer’s markets like they’re going out of style, then I should assuredly like cauliflower pizza, right?

There’s nothing like testing out a new degree of healthy yogi with the boyfriend. We made a TJs (Trader Joes) run for all the necessary ingredients, including ready-made pizza dough in case anything went too awry and we were on the verge of starvation. A couple of store samples of ginger bread cookies and dark chocolate peppermints (buy these now) helped to temper the anticipation hunger.

I may have purchased a treat for myself

I may have purchased a treat for myself

 

Settled in at home with my dark chocolates, we got to work. I pulsed a head of cauliflower in the food processor. To that, I added egg whites, nutritional yeast, herbs, and flour. I played around with amounts until the texture and viscosity felt correct.

IMG_2025

 

As my unphotogenic dough took form, the boyfriend, clearly not having doubts about how substantial this dinner would be, began preparing the pizza dough.

IMG_1991

IMG_2001IMG_1997

He has a few tricks up his sleeve. I’m dating him for his cooking skills, clearly

 

Pizza Dough

Pizza Dough

Cauliflower Dough

Cauliflower Dough

 

I baked my dough at 425 for 15 minutes then removed it from the oven, and we each topped our pizzas and into the oven they went again.

IMG_2005IMG_2004

 

And 15-20 minutes later, the Za was in a fine, fine state. My adventuresome dough was topped with tomato sauce, mushrooms, onions, and olives. The boyfriend got innovative with his toppings and used a hodge podge of tomato sauce, onions, olives, prosciutto, and ravioli (Christians Pizza-esque).

IMG_2006

 

And paired with wine and a salad, dinner was complete. We both agreed that our meal was a huge success. We both tried the cauliflower pizza and though it did taste different, it was actually delicious. It felt hearty and coupled with so many vegetables it had a lot of flavor. I continued to use the leftover dough for lunches and it tasted almost quiche-like; always a good similarity in my book. I didn’t have any of the boyfriend’s meat laden pizza but the actual pizza was the perfect texture and crispness, and he declared it his best yet.

IMG_2008IMG_2007

 

Bon Appetit!

What new recipe have you tried?

13 thoughts on “Pizza Kind of Night

  1. 1) I read your blog every day and I love it.
    2) I really want to try this cauliflower pizza, but I don’t have a food processor. Am I out of luck?
    3) Can you recommend a good food processor brand?

    Please and thank you. xoxoxo

    • Aww you’re the sweetest…unlike that sister of yours. Hmm I would try maybe chopping up the cauliflower and blending it–should be a similar dicing up. Cusinart is the best food processor! That’s what I use at home, and there are small sizes for baby endeavors like this

  2. I’ve seen cauliflower pizzas all over the healthy living blog world but your pictures make me want to try it the most! Dang, you two make some delicious looking pizzas! I think that’s going to have to appear on my dinner menu sometime this week. πŸ™‚

  3. I made the cauliflower pizza a few weeks ago and I’m literally the least likely person to be trying new things OR cooking in the kitchen. But I made it and it was AMAZING! I’m glad yours worked so well, so many people seem to have problems with it, but it is actually so delicious- and healthy!

  4. I’m so glad you liked it! It really isn’t that hard to make. I started making a couple at a time and freezing one so I have a quick, frozen pizza alternative. Thanks for the shout out! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

